Better Days Ahead

If you take anything from my blog, I want it to be that no matter what you’re going through, that no matter what happens, you’ll be okay.

I’ve been in that place where it feels like everything is going wrong, and I can’t see past what’s happening; I can’t see past the fog. It happens to the best of us. Sometimes no matter how good we may feel in some parts of our lives, when bad happens, that’s all we can concentrate on.

The last few years, I’ve learned how to change my mindset. Every day I remind myself of at least one thing that I’m grateful for, or that makes me happy. Doing this regularly helped me realize that no matter what was happening in my life, I could CHOOSE joy. I say it over and over, that one thing you can control is your attitude, and I chose to have the best one possible.

In doing that, it doesn’t mean that you can’t be in a bad mood. None of you would have wanted to be around me the other day (sorry mom). I was pissed off, frustrated, and felt like my whole world was crumbling. I was doing everything right, everything I could do, and yet, bad shit was still happening; I was still losing things that meant so much to me. So I let myself feel it. I let myself be mad and hate the world for a little while. I knew just because I wasn’t okay that day, it didn’t mean I wasn’t going to be okay tomorrow.

IMG_8851

When tomorrow came, I was still frustrated, but I knew I was going to be okay. Instead of focusing only on what was happening, I decided to focus on what I’ve been able to do and what I was grateful for. By doing this, I was able to see past what was happening to me, and I knew I was going to be okay.

Health Storylines added a new health tool called the Positive Thoughts Diary. It’s a great place to do exactly what I’ve been doing, and keeping it all together in one easy place. When you feel yourself struggling, you can easily go back to the app and remind yourself of the good days, and what you feel grateful for.

If you haven’t yet, download the app or go to https://samanthas.healthstorylines.com/app/#/register and make an account for free!

 

2 thoughts on “Better Days Ahead

Leave a comment